“Aren’t You Too Young to be Writing a Memoir?”

Posted by

My book. Both the bane and spark* of my existence. It is so big. And now my Inner Judgmentalstein* and tired mind tempt me with thoughts of giving up—I am not stuck anymore!

I am unstuck from being financially dependent on my parents.

Unstuck from long winter months of being cold and grumpy.

Unstuck from being so lonely and exhausted, my journals seeming to be my only source of emotional support in the world.

I live in California now! I earn enough money to pay my rent, go on vacation with people who love and support me, and buy new outfits for the occasion.

Going back to labor over my past life now seems…unnecessary? retroactive? 

This thought process confuses me. I am in a new city. Beautiful. Infinite*. Sunday afternoon 3 p.m. It is a chilly but sunny day in San Francisco. However, instead of living, experiencing here, I am at home on my computer, working to conquer my Everest.

Hush, Inner Judgmentalstein.

Too young to write a memoir? Am I not supposed to have learned anything from the last phase of my life?

I wrote my twenties as I lived them—through journal entries, essays and resonating quotes. I have my evolving personality snapshotted through time. I have exact moments captured that I would have never remembered with such authentic emotion, if I even remembered them at all.

I want to share what I have learned to help other people. I am moving forward. I write on.

So how is my book unique? This blog is to help me construct, catalog and organize those ideas into a professional and effective book proposal. Today I have three concepts that speak to the uniqueness of Let Me Out I’m Stuck.

(1.) Structure. The first-person, present tense plot line will unfold through various writing styles, including journal entries, creative essays and scenes with dialogue that work together to create a three-hundred-sixty-degree window into my young adult persona. 

(2.) Tone. It’s funny. I’m funny. Exercises of candor and wit, I tell it like it is. Or at least how I saw it. I believe people will laugh out loud when they read my book. They will also cringe and cry as they connect to the raw, honest emotions of vanity, helplessness and perseverance.

(3.) Timing. Let Me Out I’m Stuck presents a historical account moving to New York City as an aspiring writer in 2007 and being on the front lines as the Digital Revolution changed the way we communicate (and the publishing industry). From flip phones and Facebook going public to iPods, iPads and iPhones, I share a vivid and analytical perspective of the digital shifts in both my personal and professional worlds.

No. I am not too young to write a memoir. Perhaps I was too distracted. But that is changing now.

 

Leave a Reply

