To My Hypothetical Readers

I have so many ideas!

But they are all stuck.

Stuck behind my nine-to-five job.

Stuck behind commuting and groceries.

Stuck behind doing laundry, exercising and socializing.

Stuck behind hours of Real Housewives and the Bachelor.

Stuck behind long distances relationships, and weekends spent flying to see family that’s six hours away, or a boyfriend whose one point five.

Stuck behind sleeping.

On a recent six-hour flight, I watched Julie & Julia. The based-on-a-true-story movie stars Amy Adams as Julie, a struggling writer desperately needing a self-promoting project. 

Naturally, she decides to write a blog. Through daily posts, she takes her readers on an emotional rollercoaster of devastation (killing lobster) and disappointment (flopping soufflé).

By the end of the two-hour romcom, both Julie and her life are transformed.

The lesson? Writing a blog holds you accountable to your goals.

Lobstercide, schmobstercide. I can’t be deterred. My hypothetical readers are counting on me!

I need a self-promoting propelling project.

Propelling, not promoting. Because unlike Julie, my intention is not to prove my self worth as an unmarried, childless woman working as a writer in a city (which I also happen to be). This project is to propel me forward by holding me accountable to my ideas—and goals.

So here goes nothing!

Stuck, schmuck. I can’t be deterred. My hypothetical readers are counting on me!

Let Me Out I’m Stuck.

 

3 thoughts on “To My Hypothetical Readers

  1. That’s so wiggety-whack, Missy Bloggiot. Word? You down with mental block? I feel ya. 🙂
    That movie had a strong impact on me, too. It made me very hungry. Damn sound editing.
    I dunno about you, but when I feel “stuck”–which is often enough–I find myself wanting a writing partner or a writing group to bounce ideas around and/or clear away the cobwebs. ‘Sound good?
    I know this was last July. Have things improved much? Need a second gear?

    Like

      1. So, a harem? 😀 ‘Probably doesn’t help to title your space or any section of your space with the word “distraction.” 🙂 You are welcome. ‘Love your cartoon avatar self (minus the gold necklace, though it strikes a mildly amusing tone). Stay in touch.

        Like

Leave a comment